Florida Traffic Tickets
What are Traffic Tickets?
When a person commits a moving violation, such as speeding or running a red light, their consequence for their actions will be a traffic ticket.
In Florida, traffic laws are heavily enforced by police who drive around all day and catch people breaking the law. When an officer sees a person committing a moving violation they will pull them over and issue them a ticket and each ticket comes with a fine amount that a person must pay within thirty days.
- Moving Violations
- Criminal Traffic Violations
- Additional Traffic Tickets Information
Penalties for Traffic Tickets
Every county in Florida is held accountable for enforcing traffic laws. Although each county is responsible for setting their own fines and penalties for traffic violations, the majority of them have the same penalties.
Below is a list of traffic violations and their penalties:
Running a Stop Sign
A driver is required to come to a complete stop at the marked lined or at the beginning of an intersection when a stop sign is present.
Fines for running a stop sign are up to $200. Penalties for running a stop sign will be higher if an accident or injury occurred.
Running a Red Light
Florida has red light cameras at intersections that record a video and take pictures of driver’s running red lights. The fine for running a red light is $158 if caught on camera.
Careless driving is when the driver unknowingly operates a vehicle in a way that can be dangerous to other people or property. The penalties for careless driving consist of a fine up to $500 and four points on a person’s driver’s license instead of the typical two or three points.
9 Miles Per Hour Over – $76- $81.00
10-14 MPH Over – $137.50- $155.50
15- 19 MPH Over – $158.50- $180.50
20- 29 MPH Over – $178.50- $205.50
30 MPH & Over – $260.50- $305.50
Violation of a Traffic Control Device
When a person does not follow the rules of signs or traffic signals, such as stopping at a stop sign, they will be charged with a violation of a traffic control device.
Violation of a traffic control device includes the following:
- Failure to yield at a yield sign
- Running a red light
- Illegal U-turn
- Not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign
- Ignoring flashing lights or portable/temporary signs
- Stopping the middle of a crosswalk
- Going over the speed limit
The fines for traffic control violations are usually between $100 and $300 dollars. If people were injured or an accident occurred from the violation, higher fines will be charged and more penalties will occur, such as jail time.
Violation of Right of Way
If a driver does not follow the proper protocol when another driver has the right of way, such as at a four way stop or a yield sign, they can be charged with a right of way violation.
A violation of right of way fine ranges from $65.00- $300.00. If the violation of right of way results in a pedestrian injury or an accident, the driver will face additional penalties.
Improper Lane Change
When a driver changes lanes without a safe path, they can be charged with an improper lane change violation.
A violation of an improper lane change has a fine amount of $65.00- $300.00.
Failure to Yield
A failing to yield ticket can relate to any aspect of driving where a person did not yield to another vehicle or pedestrian when they should have.
A failure to yield fine can be up to $500 and will be higher if further citations are given, such as reckless driving citations, or if an accident or injury occurs.
All traffic tickets issued to a person will add points to a person license. These points will cause a person’s insurance rates to rise and if a person receives too many points within a given time period they will have their license suspended. A license suspension will cause a person to have to pay more fines to reinstate their license and can lead to a person losing their job.
Contact Us Today
There are many different defenses that relate to traffic tickets and we have strong history with representing motorists who have received traffic ticket citations. At our firm we are passionate and knowledgeable on all of the aspects of criminal law and we would like to help you. Ask your questions and get answers from our friendly staff that are available 24/7 to assist you any way they can. Call us today at 1-800-FIHGT-IT (1-800-344-4848).