Moving Violations in Florida
What is a Moving Violation?
A moving violation is when a driver breaks the law of the road when operating a vehicle. There are numerous moving violations that a driver can receive and it is a driver’s responsibility to know the laws and rules of the road when driving; if they break these rules that will receive fines and penalties that they will have to pay and abide by.
Moving Violations and Fines
All moving violations are documented on a person’s individual driving record and every moving violation comes with a fine that a person must pay. Below is a list of common moving violations and the approximated fines that come with them.
- Speeding: Fines typically range from $75.00 to $300.00 depending on the speed the person was driving
- Careless Driving: Fine up to $500
- Violation of a Traffic Control Device: Fines typically range up t $300 depending on the traffic control device
- Running a Red Light: Typically a $158.00 fine
- Violation of Right of Way: Fines range between $65.00 and $300.00
- Improper Lane Change: Fines range between $65.00 and $300.00
- Florida’s Move Over Law: Fines typically over $100.00 and up to $500.00
- Improper Passing: Fine up to $300.00
- Running a Stop Sign: Fines typically range from $75.00 to $300.00
- Spectator to Street Racing: Fine up to $500.00
- Failure to Yield: Up to $500.00 in fines
Aside from the fines that come with moving violations, a person will also have points added against their license for every moving violation ticket they receive. A person has the option to take a driving course that will deduct the points from their license, but they can only take this course one time per year.
Every moving violation a driver gets will cause their insurance rates to increase. This could amount to thousands of dollars more each year for insurance depending on how high the rates rise. In addition, if a person does not pay their insurance their license will be suspended which will result in more fees that a person has to pay.
A person’s driver’s license will also be suspended if they accumulate too many points on their license in a given time frame. If a driver receives twelve points on their record within a two year period, their driving privileges and license will automatically be suspended. If a driver receives eight points within two years they will be obligated for a review and could face a suspension as well and if a person demonstrates a consistent violation of traffic laws the U.S has the right to suspend or revoke all of their driving privileges.
Many people do not think about all of the consequences that can occur from a moving violation and therefore do not fight their charges. However, the majority of people that do fight their charges end up getting them reduced or dismissed. There are numerous defenses for moving violations and accusing officers can charge an individual without having the adequate proof to back up their charge, without proof there is no case. A person charged with a moving violation should consult with a lawyer immediately to get their charges reduced or dismissed.
Contact an Experienced Attorney
Moving violation charges are typically quickly resolved when a person hires an experienced attorney to fight their charge. If you have been charged with a moving violation do not let the points stack up on you license and settle for the penalties that come along with the violation. Contact our firm today. We know how stressful dealing with a moving violation charge can be and we promise to do everything in our power to help resolve your case quickly and effectively. We are aggressive attorneys who are passionate about criminal law and we have been representing motorists for ten years. We are available 24/7 to answer all of your questions. Call us today at 1-800-FIGHT-IT (1-800-344-4848) and set up a free consultation.